Cannot get react-native metamask boilerplate project to work

I’ve spent several days trying to get the boilerplate project to work on my system to no avail. I am fairly new to React Native.

Repro steps:

1. Download the project from the MetaMask react-native page (Sorry, I cannot include links but see the screenshot below).
  2. Run yarn setup as instructed.

If I run npm start I get to this page but nothing happens. I have tried pressing both ‘R’ to reload and ‘D’ for developer options but both just yield:

“No apps connected. Sending “reload” to all React Native apps failed. Make sure your app is running in the simulator or on a phone connected via USB.”

I am reading that npm start actually does not launch the app and you need to specify yarn ios or yarn android instead. However I am leaving this here just in case I am missing something.

I tried to run with yarn ios but it appears that by default the package.json wants to launch iPhone 11 which fails immediately since the latest version of Xcode does not include the iPhone 11 simulator. I tried to switch the line within package.json to iPhone 14 and a new error presents itself:

Failed to build iOS project. We ran "xcodebuild" command but it exited with error code 65. To debug build logs further, consider building your app with Xcode.app, by opening reactNativeApp.xcworkspace.

From a quick google search this error can occur if cocoapods is not installed. It requires you to change directory into the ios folder, run pod install and relaunch the application. After running pod install and trying yarn ios now a new error log generates (I have attached the error logs as a separate comment below).

I’ve also tried to do a step-by-step installation of the MetaMask-sdk for react-native outlined in the same section from #1 above but an error with shim.js occurs.