Can I even use Metamask for this purpose?

Hello,

I opened a ticket a week ago but unfortunately the auto response wasn’t helpful so I’m hoping I can get some advice here instead.

I’m a freelancer and have many clients asking me to start taking Crypto as payment and I’ve been looking into Metamask as a wallet, but have several questions I need answering before I can continue.

Question 1:
As I just want to get paid for the work I do and not speculate on the Crypto market, I wanted to start accepting payment in USDC as it’s stable, and some clients expressed they wish to pay me in this manner on the ERC20 network.
So my first question is can I accept payment as USDC directly into Metamask and if so, do I need to change anything to be able to do this or will wit work under the default setup? I’m trying to keep things as simple as possible :slight_smile:

Question 2:
Once I’ve received payment in USDC am I right in assuming I can then just send the USDC to an any exchange like Coinbase to sell it directly? If so would it incur gas fees or transaction fees on Metamask and Coinbase’s end, or at just one or the other? I don’t entirely understand how it works when it comes to fee as I’m sure you can tell.

I’ve been missing out on clients who want to pay this way so any help is much appreciated so I can get started accepting payments as soon as possible!
Thanks.

Hey @Kaide, welcome to the MetaMask community! Glad to have you here :slight_smile:

Question 1: You can definitely accept payment as USDC directly into MetaMask. All you have to do is provide them with your address, which can be easily copied and pasted from the wallet’s interface. One thing to keep in mind - make sure you know what network they are sending the payment in, whether it be Ethereum, Polygon, Binance Smart Chain, etc.