Bought mistakenly ETC under an ETH wallet address

Hi to all,

I am a newbie and I did a terrible mistake. I purchased about 200 Euros of ETC and I provided by mistake the MetaMask ETH wallet address. I can see the transaction under a specific link of bscscan [.com], but except that I wait for hours and of course the coins are not appeared under the MetaMask wallet.

Is there any way to redeem these? Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks a lot in advance for your time and your support. And of course for your attention to this matter.

With kind regards,
Theodoros

1 Like

Hello @gavrilos, welcome to the MetaMask community,

In case you sent the ETC on BNB chain to your MetaMask address, you need to add the ETC contract address to your MetaMask wallet to view it.
ETC contract address on BNB chain is: 0x3d6545b08693dae087e957cb1180ee38b9e3c25e

In your wallet under the Tokens tab (BNB chain), click Import tokens. Then add the ETC contract address given above. Click the button “Add custom token” → Import tokens

The following article is related.

4 Likes

Hi @Maryam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your help and the quick response. The ETC contract address you provided matches the Token Contract ID/address I see under the transaction, in bscscan [.com]. This means that the transaction was truly under the BNB chain.

The problem I am experiencing now, is that when I am trying to add this token manually under the “Ethereum Classic network”, the field “Decimal” is not editable/available. It shows the value “0” and all and all I can add is the Token Contract address and the token symbol. I put the address as suggested and under the field “token symbol” I put “ETC”.

After I add the token manually (of course in the “Ethereum Classic network”), I have two time the ETC, but unfortunately they both show “0” value. Do you think I should wait more? Would t help if I provide the bscscan [.com] link? Unfortunately, this forum doesn’t allow me to post a link.