Mobile wallet and Chrome extension show different names and won't let me import my nft's

Hi,
I’d like a little advice, or even just pointing in the right direction from someone who’s been using MetaMask for a while…

I’ve set up my MetaMask account and am using the Chrome extension. In the extension I see my account name, details and ETH balance, however when I setup the mobile wallet using the security phrase it show’s the account name as ‘Account 1’.

This is a problem as I’d like to add the nft’s I’ve created on OpenSea to my wallet, and when I try to add the nft (using the contract address + Token ID) it says it can’t add them as I’m not the owner…??
I’m obviously doing something wrong, but try as I might I just can’t figure it out.

BTW, if it’s not obvious, I’m new to MetaMask, so apologies for the noob question/problem (I have searched the forum but can’t find the answer…)

2 Likes

Hey @Jungens, welcome to the MetaMask community! :fox_face:

No need to apologize about noob questions, that’s what we’re here for :slight_smile:

You most likely just inputted the wrong Secret Recovery Phrase on your mobile app.

Here’s some more info on our Knowledge Base on common mistakes:

Hope this helps!

2 Likes

@nakedwinnie, thanks so much for the pointers :slight_smile:

So, here’s the weird thing, when I use the Metamask Chrome extension, or indeed a tab, I see my account name, an orange icon, my account balance etc…
However, when I view the app, I see a green icon (obviously not a huge deal, just odd), but instead of my name it says ‘Account 1’, and as far as the account balance, I see the exact same balance, down to the 5th decimal place, also the big long combination of letters and numbers under my name (not sure what’s that called ) on both the extension and the app are the same…

I did try deleting the account on the app and setting it up again, but maybe I did something wrong…I’ll try and again and see how I get on…

1 Like